PSU Mark
Eberly College of Science Mathematics Department

Dynamical systems seminar (2014 Archive)

This is a Dynamical Systems seminar

OTHER CENTER SEMINARS:

Working seminar: Dynamics and its Working Tools seminar Tuesday 3:30-6:00pm ROOM 216 McAllister: schedule

Geometry luncheon seminar Wednesday 12:05-1:20pm 114 McAllister: schedule

Geometry working seminar Wednesday; schedule: 3:35-4:35pm, 114 McAllister

Center for Dynamics and Geometry Colloquium; Tuesdays from 02:00pm to 03:30pm in MB114


Additional information on the Center for Dynamics and Geometry
DateSpeaker(s)Title
Mon, 13 Jan 2014Sergio Fenley, Florida State UniversityStructure and rigidity of totally periodic pseudo-Anosov flows in graph manifolds
Mon, 20 Jan 2014 No seminar today
Mon, 27 Jan 2014Jason Rute, Penn StateA variational bound on the mean ergodic theorem in a uniformly convex Banach space
Mon, 3 Feb 2014Alex Wright, University of ChicagoGL(2,R) orbit closures of translation surfaces
Mon, 10 Feb 2014Ayse Sahin, DePaul UniversitySpecial representations of group actions and low complexity tilings of groups
Mon, 17 Feb 2014Anatole Katok, Penn StateKakutani equivalence and restricted orbit equivalence in ergodic theory and dynamics, I: Introduction and overview, Part 1. This is WORKING SEMINAR; DYNAMICS AND ITS WORKING TOOLS talk
Mon, 24 Feb 2014Anatole Katok, Penn StateKakutani equivalence and restricted orbit equivalence in ergodic theory and dynamics, II: Actions of higher rank abelian groups and new rigidity problems. This is WORKING SEMINAR; DYNAMICS AND ITS WORKING TOOLS talk
Mon, 3 Mar 2014Jesse Peterson, Vanderbilt UniversityCANCELLED
Mon, 17 Mar 2014Stephen Frankel, Yale UniversityQuasigeodesic flows and dynamics at infinity. ATTENTION; THis talk will take place on WEDNESDAY MARCH 19 at the time of the GEOMETRY WORKING SEMINAR
Mon, 24 Mar 2014Renato Feres, Washington University Saint LouisStatistical physics of simple billiard systems
Mon, 31 Mar 2014 To Be Announced
Mon, 7 Apr 2014Bruce Kleiner, NYURicci flow through singularities. Attention: this is "Geometry" talk....
Mon, 14 Apr 2014Guillaume Dreyer, Notre-Dame UniversityParametrizing Hitchin components
Mon, 21 Apr 2014Omri Sarig, Weizmann Institute of ScienceSymbolic dynamics for three dimensional flows with positive entropy (joint work with Y. Lima)
Mon, 28 Apr 2014Christian Wolf, The City College of New YorkLocalized Pressure and Equilibrium States
Mon, 5 May 2014Kelly Yancey, University of MarylandConstructions in Infinite Ergodic Theory, TIME CHANGE: starts at 3:25pm
Mon, 12 May 2014 To Be Announced
Mon, 1 Sep 2014 NO SEMINAR LABOR DAY
Mon, 8 Sep 2014Yuri Kifer, Hebrew University of JerusalemPoisson and compound Poisson asymptotics in conventional and noncoventional setups
Mon, 15 Sep 2014Ilya Vinogradov, University of BristolEffective Ratner Theorem for ASL(2, R) and the gaps of the sequence \sqrt n modulo 1
Mon, 22 Sep 2014Martin Schmoll, Clemson UniversityDynamics on Panov planes and related dynamical systems
Mon, 29 Sep 2014Serge Cantat, CNRS-Université de Rennes (presently member of the IAS)Dynamics on complex projective surfaces
Mon, 6 Oct 2014Jayadev Athreya, University of Illinois at Urbana-ChampaignThe Random Minkowski Theorem and Values of Polynomials at Lattice Points
Mon, 13 Oct 2014Mikhail Lyubich, SUNY Stony BrookNew examples of polynomial Julia sets of positive area
Fri, 17 Oct 2014
MB102

1:15pm - 3:30pm
 Poster Session
Mon, 20 Oct 2014Ke Zhang, University of TorontoArnold diffusion: two and half degrees of freedom and beyond
Mon, 27 Oct 2014Rafael de la Llave, Georgia TechDynamical properties of conformally symplectic systems
Mon, 3 Nov 2014Brandon Seward, University of MichiganKrieger's finite generator theorem for ergodic actions of countable groups
Mon, 10 Nov 2014Amir Mohammadi, University of Texas, AustinOrbits closures for the action of SL(2,R) on moduli spaces.
Mon, 17 Nov 2014Rodrigo Treviño, Cornell UniversityFlat surfaces, Bratteli diagrams and adic transformations
Mon, 24 Nov 2014 NO SEMINAR: Thanksgiving break
Mon, 1 Dec 2014Manfred Denker, The Pennsylvania State UniversityAn avalanche principle for dynamical systems
Mon, 8 Dec 2014 To Be Announced
Archives 2015, 2014