PSU Mark
Eberly College of Science Mathematics Department

News Archive

Back to Archive Listing

Frank Deutsch to speak at conference.
Professor Emeritus Frank Deutsch will be a 1-hour invited speaker at the conference Approximation Theory XII, March 4-8, 2007, in San Antonio, Texas. This is the main approximation theory conference worldwide. It is held every three years.
12 / 20 / 2006
Graduate Teaching Assistant Awards.
Congratulations to Hengguang Li and Mike Rowell, the Fall 2006 winners of the departmental Graduate Teaching Assistant Award. The value of each award is $250.
12 / 19 / 2006
Current NSF-DMS Research Grants.
Currently 39 Penn State faculty members are Principal Investigators in research projects funded by the National Science Foundation's Division of Mathematical Sciences. They are: Andrews, Baum, Berlyand, Bressan, Brown, Brownawell, Burago, Du, Henderson, Higson, Jenssen, A. Katok, Levi, Lindsay, R. Li, W. Li, X. Li, Liu, Mazzucato, Nabutovsky, Nistor, Novikov, Ocneanu, Pesin, Petrunin, Previte, Roe, Rosenberger, Rotman, Sarig, Simpson, Tabachnikov, Wu, Wysocki, J. Xu, P. Xu, Zha, Zheng, Zikatanov.
12 / 19 / 2006
Musings of the Masters.
The Mathematical Association of America has published Musings of the Masters, an anthology of mathematical writings edited by Professor Emeritus and former department head Raymond Ayoub. This book has received several enthusiastic reviews.
12 / 18 / 2006
John Roe receives Distinguished Service Award.
This award recognizes outstanding leadership and service contributions over a sustained period of time. Professor Roe, our current department head, received this award for his past work in designing and implementing our Graduate Teaching Assistant training program.
12 / 15 / 2006
Nigel Higson named Evan Pugh Professor.
Nigel Higson, distinguished professor of mathematics and former department head, has been named an Evan Pugh professor, the highest distinction that Penn State can bestow upon a faculty member.
12 / 15 / 2006
Three faculty positions available.
Qualified applicants are urged to apply for three open faculty positions in our Department of Mathematics. You may apply at
12 / 14 / 2006
SCREMS proposal funded.
A departmental research proposal led by Professor Jinchao Xu was recently funded by the National Science Foundation program "Scientific Computing Research Environments for Mathematical Sciences". This grant provides $111,000 to purchase a symmetrical multiprocessor cluster and a visualization server. The starting date of the grant is September 1, 2006.
12 / 14 / 2006
Jinchao Xu to speak at ICIAM07.
Professor Jinchao Xu will be an invited speaker at ICIAM07, the 6th International Congress on Industrial and Applied Mathematics, 16-20 July 2007, in Zurich, Switzerland.
12 / 14 / 2006
Congratulations!!!!! Jo Battaglia, Mary Erickson, Cindy Parsons, Pat Schulte.
For your recent promotion to Senior Instructor.
12 / 07 / 2006
Alberto Bressan awarded the title of "Distinguished Professor".
Alberto Bressan, professor of mathematics, has been named distinguished professor of mathematics at Penn State. This title is presented in recognition of his exceptional record of teaching, research and service to the University community.
12 / 07 / 2006
Distinguished Lecture Series for the Spring announced.
The Marker Lecture Series, March 26-30, 2007: Professor L. Craig Evans of the University of California at Berkeley.
The Chemerda Lecture Series, February 5-8, 2007: Professor Robert V. Kohn of the Courant Institute.
12 / 07 / 2006
Alberto Bressan receives the Antonio Feltrinelli Prize in Mathematics, Mechanics and Applications.
This prize is awarded by the Accademia Nazionale dei Lincei, Italy's most prestigious scientific society.
12 / 07 / 2006
Robert Geist, Research Engineer in the WGP Fluid Mechanics Laboratory, wins the College of Science Technical Support Award.
Rob provides machine-shop, electronics and design services to the Pritchard Fluid Mechanics Laboratory, and over the last year he has been heavily involved in getting the lab's wave tanks and other equipment operational in their new basement home.
12 / 07 / 2006
Bryce Weaver and Jiakou Wang are awarded the Pritchard Dissertation Fellowship Award.
These awards are made in recognition of the very high quality of the awardees' thesis work.
12 / 07 / 2006