Math 111: Math for Elementary Teachers I

Section 1: MWF, 9:30-10:20, Keller 302
Section 2: MWF, 1:30-2:20, Keller 403

EXAM 1: Friday, February 19
EXAM 2: Wednesday, March 31

Here's the course syllabus. And here are three major objectives of this course:
Final Exam: For Section 1 it will be Monday, May 10, 9:45-11:45.  For Section 2, it is Monday, May 10, 2:15-4:15. By enrolling in this course, you implicitly agree to take the final exam at the scheduled time; if you have a conflict and can't make it, you should drop now.  

Homework:
  1. Read this. Then write down (a) which points you understand, (b) which points you don't understand, (c) which points you're already good at and (d) which points you could work on.Turn in your work on Wednesday, Jan. 13. 
  2. Here's HW 2. It's due Friday, Jan. 15.
  3. Here's HW 3. It's due Wednesday, Jan. 20.
  4. Here's HW 4. It's due Friday, Jan. 22.
  5. Here's HW 5. It's due Monday, Jan. 25. 
  6. Here's HW 6. It's due Wednesday, Jan. 27. 
  7. Here's HW 7. It's due Friday, Jan. 29.
  8. Here's HW 8. It's due Monday, Feb. 1.
  9. Here's HW 9. It's due Wednesday, Feb. 3.
  10. Here's HW 10. It's due Friday, Feb. 5.
  11. Here's HW 11. It's due Wednesday, Feb. 10.
  12. Here's HW 12. It's due Friday, Feb. 12. 
  13. Prepare for our review day (Wednesday, Feb. 17) by doing the following review problems.
  14. Here's HW 14. It's due Wednesday, Feb. 24. 
  15. Here's HW 15. It's due Friday, Feb. 26. 
  16. HW 16 is to do problem 3.25 (on page 71) from the book. And prove that if the intersection of A and B is nonempty and a subset of C, then A\C does not equal B.  This assignment is due Monday, March 1. 
  17. Here's HW 17. It's due Wednesday, March 3. 
  18. Here's HW 18. It's due Friday, March 5.
  19. Here's HW 19. It's due Monday, March 8.
  20. Here's HW 20. It's due Wednesday, March 10.
  21. Here's HW 21. It's due Friday, March 12.
  22. Here's HW 22. It's due Wednesday, March 17.
  23. Here's HW 23. It's due Friday, March 19.
  24. Prepare for our review day (Monday, March 29) by doing the following review problems. Here's a version with answers
  25. Read section 1.1.1 of your book and answer questions 1.1 and 1.2. Bring both the book and your answers to class on Wednesday. 
  26. On Friday, April 9, bring the answers to questions 1.4 and 1.5.  Also, bring 27 somethings (e.g. 3x5 cards) so we can do problem 1.6 in class. 
  27. On Monday, April 12 bring the answers to all four parts of question 1.9. 
  28. On Wednesday, April 14 bring the answers to questions 1.13 and 1.14. (Warning: these require proofs.) Also, read page 15 so we can do problems 1.15--1.19 in class on Wednesday. 
  29. On Friday, April 16 bring the answer to question 1.20, and think about question 1.21 (which we'll discuss in class). 
  30. On Wednesday, April 21 bring the answers to questions 1.30 and 1.31. 
  31. On Friday, April 23 bring a carefully written proof of the fact that the empty list is an identity for the operation of joining. 
  32. On Monday, April 26 bring the answers to questions 1.38 and 1.40. 
  33. For Wednesday, April 28 do the following problems and bring your answers to class. Let R^2 be the set of all ordered pairs of real numbers and define a "smashing" operation as follows: (x,y) ! (p,q) = (x,q).  What is (4,8) ! (-3,-2)? How about (-7,0) ! (43,-206)? State what it would mean for smashing to be commutative.  State what it would mean for smashing not to be commutive. Is smashing commutative? State what it would mean for smashing to be associative.  State what it would mean for smashing not to be associative. Is smashing associative? State what it would mean for (1,0) to be an identity for the operation of smashing.  State what it would mean for (1,0) not to be an identity. Is (1,0) an identity? 
  34. On Friday, April 30 bring the answer to question 3.16. 
  35. Here are the review problems for the final exam. On Monday, May 3 and Wednesday, May 5 I'll answer any questions you have. Here are the answers.