PSU Mark
Eberly College of Science Mathematics Department

Postdocs and Instructors

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Photo of Seunghoon Bang

Seunghoon Bang

Lecturer
bang@math.psu.edu
407 McAllister Building
+1 814 863 9670
Photo of Thomas Barthelme

Thomas Barthelme

Chowla Postdoc
thomas.barthelme@psu.edu
235 McAllister Building
+1-814-865-1613
Personal Web Page
Photo of Sankha Basu

Sankha Basu

Lecturer
basu@math.psu.edu
217 McAllister Building
+1-814-863-9052
Personal Web Page
Education:
Ph.D. Mathematics, The Pennsylvania State University, 2013
M.S. Mathematics, Marquette University, 2008
M.Sc. Pure Mathematics, University of Calcutta, 2004
B.Sc. Mathematics (Hons.), University of Calcutta, 2002
Research Interests:
Mathematical Logic and Foundations of Mathematics
Photo of Panagiotis Batakidis

Panagiotis Batakidis

Lecturer
batakidis@psu.edu
331 McAllister Building
+1-814-863-9119
Education:
Ph.D. Mathematics, Université Paris 7, 2009
Research Interests:
Quantization in Algebra and Geometry
Representation Theory
Lie groups and Lie algebras
Photo of Andrew Baxter

Andrew Baxter

Lecturer
baxter@math.psu.edu
006 McAllister Building
+1 814 865 5002
Personal Web Page
Education:
B.A. Millersville University (2005)
Ph.D. Rutgers University (2011)
Research Interests:
Enumerative Combinatorics, permutation patterns, computer-aided discovery
Photo of Amine Benkiran

Amine Benkiran

Instructor
benkiran@math.psu.edu
401 McAllister Building
+1 814 863 9020
Personal Web Page
Photo of Tyrus Berry

Tyrus Berry

Research Associate
thb11@psu.edu
425 McAllister Building
+1-814-863-4135
Photo of Mark Bregar

Mark Bregar

Lecturer
mjb8@psu.edu
450 Science Park Road
814-865-1722
Photo of Aaron Brown

Aaron Brown

Post Doc
brown@math.psu.edu
230 McAllister Building
+1 814 863 9124
Photo of Brian Burns

Brian Burns

Lecturer
bgb3@psu.edu
226 McAllister Building
+1-814-865-1613
Education:
Master in Science with Honours in the 1st class,Mathematics, M.Sci. (Hons), University of Glasgow 1998
Master of Science, M.Sc. Information Systems Management, University of Stirling 1999
Master of Science, M.S. Computational and Applied Mathematics, Old Dominion University 2005
Doctorate of Philosophy Ph.D. Computational and Applied Mathematics, Old Dominion University 2007
Research Interests:
Operators in Hilbert Space
Singular Integral Equations
Special Functions
Potential Theory
Elasticity
Stock Control Management
Logistics
Educational Analytics
Educational Retention and Intervention Strategies
Algorithmic and Adaptive Educational Software
Photo of Shuhao Cao

Shuhao Cao

Research Associate
scao@psu.edu
210 McAllister Building
814-863-8578
http://www.personal.psu.edu/szc18/
Education:
Ph.D., Purdue University, 2014
Research Interests:
Adaptive Finite Element Method for Partial Differential Equations
Photo of Jose Carrion

Jose Carrion

S. Chowla Research Assistant Professor
jcarrion@psu.edu
212 McAllister Building
+1-814-863-9678
Personal Web Page
Education:
Ph.D., Purdue University, 2013
Research Interests:
Operator Algebras, K-theory
Photo of Neena Chopra

Neena Chopra

Senior Instructor
chopra@math.psu.edu
401 McAllister Building
+1 814 863 9020
Photo of Pierre Clare

Pierre Clare

Lecturer
clare@math.psu.edu
221 McAllister Building
+1 814 865 0326
Photo of Carl Cotner

Carl Cotner

Lecturer
cotner@math.psu.edu
212 McAllister Building
+1 814 863 9678
Photo of Calder Daenzer

Calder Daenzer

S. Chowla Research Assistant Professor
daenzer@math.psu.edu
230 McAllister Building
+1 814 863 9124
Personal Web Page
Education:
University of Pennsylvania, PhD. (2007)
Research Interests:
Noncommutative geometry, stacks, T-duality and more.
Photo of Tyler Dare

Tyler Dare

Lecturer
tpd10@psu.edu
422 McAllister Building
+1-814-863-4127
Photo of Ryan Eberhart

Ryan Eberhart

Lecturer
rde3@psu.edu
001 McAllister Building
+1-814-863-8500
Personal Web Page
Education:
Ph.D. University of Pennsylvania, 2013
Research Interests:
Algebraic geometry, arithmetic geometry, Galois theory
Photo of Hillary Einziger

Hillary Einziger

Lecturer
einziger@math.psu.edu
420 McAllister Building
+1 814 863 9061
Photo of Marc Fabbri

Marc Fabbri

Senior Lecturer
fabbri@math.psu.edu
409 McAllister Building
+1 814 863 5220
Photo of Ryan Flynn

Ryan Flynn

Lecturer
flynn@math.psu.edu
004 McAllister Building
+1-814-865-7527
Photo of Darla Forsha

Darla Forsha

Senior Instructor
forsha@math.psu.edu
403 McAllister Building
+1 814 865 3329
Photo of Carol Gaertner

Carol Gaertner

Instructor
gaertner@math.psu.edu
412 McAllister Building
+1 814 863 3210
Photo of Marc Geiller

Marc Geiller

Lecturer
mug34@math.psu.edu
312 Whitmore Lab
814-865-3062
Photo of Gary Greene

Gary Greene

Lecturer
greene@math.psu.edu
434 McAllister Building
+1 814 863 3673
Photo of Christopher Griffin

Christopher Griffin

Research Associate and Assistant Professor of Mathematics
cxg286@psu.edu
005 McAllister Building
+1 814 863 8937
Personal Web Page
Education:
Ph.D. Operations Research, Penn State University 2007
Research Interests:
Game Theory, Optimization, Applied Statistics
Photo of Moisey Guysinsky

Moisey Guysinsky

Senior Lecturer
guysin_m@math.psu.edu
112A McAllister Building
+1 814 863 9117
Personal Web Page
Education:
Ph.D., The Pennsylvania State University, 1998
Research Interests:
Dynamical Systems
Photo of James Hager

James Hager

Senior Lecturer and Assistant Director for Undergraduate Education
211 McAllister Building
+1 814 863 8753
Personal Web Page
Education:
Ph.D., Stanford University
Research Interests:
Computational Complexity, Natural Language Processing, Automatic Theorem Proving and Program Synthesis,Formal Methods
Photo of Steven Hair

Steven Hair

Lecturer & Coordinator of First Year Courses
hair@math.psu.edu
104A McAllister Building
+1 814 865 7528
Thesis Adviser: John Roe
Education:
Ph.D. Penn State University, 2010
Photo of Nestor Handzy

Nestor Handzy

Lecturer
handzy@math.psu.edu
309 McAllister Building
+1 814 863 6398
Photo of Cheryl Hile

Cheryl Hile

Advisor & Senior Lecturer
hile@math.psu.edu
104E McAllister Building
+1 814 865 7528
Personal Web Page
Education:
Ph.D., Applied Mathematics, Northwestern University, 1993
Photo of Xiaozhe Hu

Xiaozhe Hu

Postdoc
hu_x@math.psu.edu
309 McAllister Building
+814 863-6398
Personal Web Page
Photo of Jingchi Huang

Jingchi Huang

Research Associate
juh43@psu.edu
210 McAllister Building
+1-814-863-8578
Personal Web Page
Education:
Ph.D. Academy of Mathematics and Systems Science, Chinese Academy of Sciences 2013
Photo of Tao Huang

Tao Huang

Research Associate
txh35@psu.edu
218 McAllister Building
+1-814-865-5201
Personal Web Page
Education:
Ph.D. Mathematics, University of Kentucky, 2013
Research Interests:
Partial Differential Equations
Fluid Mechanics
Photo of Taisong Jing

Taisong Jing

Chowla Postdoc
tuj10@math.psu.edu
205 McAllister Building
814-863-9035
Photo of Svetla Jivkova

Svetla Jivkova

Lecturer
stj2@psu.edu
420 McAllister Building
+1 814 863 9061
Photo of Matthew Katz

Matthew Katz

Lecturer
katz@math.psu.edu
004 McAllister Building
+1-814-863-8729
Photo of Nan Li

Nan Li

Lecturer
nul12@psu.edu
221 McAllister Building
+1 814 865 0326
Personal Web Page
Photo of David Little

David Little

Senior Lecturer
dlittle@math.psu.edu
403 McAllister Building
+1 814 865 3329
Personal Web Page
Education:
Ph.D., University of California, San Diego, 2000
Research Interests:
Combinatorics
Photo of Lina Ma

Lina Ma

Research Associate
lum28@math.psu.edu
203 McAllister Building
814-865-3783
Photo of Lisa Melanson

Lisa Melanson

Lecturer
lmm63@psu.edu
210 McAllister Building
+1-814-863-8578
Photo of Tadele Mengesha

Tadele Mengesha

Research Associate
mengesha@math.psu.edu
212 McAllister Building
+1 814 863-9678
Personal web page
Photo of Maximilian Metti

Maximilian Metti

Chowla Postdoc
msm37@psu.edu
331 McAllister Building
+1-814-863-9119
Photo of Bharath Narayanan

Bharath Narayanan

Lecturer
narayana@math.psu.edu
410 McAllister Building
+1 814 865 1401
Personal Web Page
Photo of Tien Khai Nguyen

Tien Khai Nguyen

S. Chowla Research Assistant Professor
ktn2@psu.edu
235 McAllister Building
+1-814-865-1613
http://www.personal.psu.edu/ktn2/
Photo of Viorel Nitica

Viorel Nitica

Lecturer
nitica@math.psu.edu
Photo of Cindy Parsons

Cindy Parsons

Senior Lecturer & Coordinator of Calculus
cjp@math.psu.edu
104C McAllister Building
+1 814 865 7528
Photo of Mykhailo Potomkin

Mykhailo Potomkin

Instructor
mup20@psu.edu
405 McAllister Building
+1 814 863 9096
Personal Web Page
Photo of Kasha Przybyla

Kasha Przybyla

Instructor
przybyla@math.psu.edu
005 McAllister Building
+1 814 863 8937
Education:
M. S., University of Wroclaw, Poland, 1999
M. S., Communication Systems and Signal Processing, University of Bristol, UK, 2006
Photo of Sarah Rajtmajer

Sarah Rajtmajer

Postdoc
smr48@psu.edu
001 McAllister Building
+1-814-863-8500
Education:
PhD (Mathematics) - University of Zagreb, Croatia
BA (Mathematics and Music) - Columbia University
Research Interests:
Network Science (in particular social networks, functional neural networks)
Graph Theory
Game Theory
Statistics
Machine Learning
Photo of Joseph Roberts

Joseph Roberts

Lecturer
jpr223@psu.edu
001 McAllister Building
+1-814-863-8500
Education:
Ph.D., University of Michigan, 2013
Research Interests:
Euler equations, conservation laws
Photo of Jason Rute

Jason Rute

Research Associate
jmr71@math.psu.edu
421 McAllister Building
+1-814-863-4125
Personal Web Page
Education:
Ph.D., Carnegie Mellon University, 2013
Research Interests:
Mathematical logic, algorithmic randomness, effective probability theory, dynamical systems.
Photo of Daniel Schultz

Daniel Schultz

Research Associate
dps23@math.psu.edu
212 McAllister Building
814-863-9678
Photo of Eric Simring

Eric Simring

BioCal Instructor
eis108@math.psu.edu
108 McAllister Building
814-867-5687
Photo of Christine Stachniewicz

Christine Stachniewicz

Senior Instructor
stachnie@math.psu.edu
007 McAllister Building
+1 814 865 3285
Personal Web Page
Photo of Feng Sun

Feng Sun

Research Associate
fsun@math.psu.edu
217 McAllister Building
+1 814 863 9052
Personal homepage
Photo of Magali Tournus

Magali Tournus

Postdoc
mut14@psu.edu
405 McAllister Building
+1-814-863-9096
Photo of Zachary Tseng

Zachary Tseng

Instructor
tseng@math.psu.edu
410 McAllister Building
+1 814 865 1401
Photo of Vishal Vasan

Vishal Vasan

S. Chowla Research Assistant Professor
vxv10@psu.edu
217 McAllister Building
+1 814 863 9052
Personal webpage
Education:
University of Washington, PhD. (2012)
Research Interests:
Water waves, Partial differential equations, Applied Mathematics
Photo of Chenying Wang

Chenying Wang

Lecturer
wang_c@math.psu.edu
412 McAllister Building
+1 814 863 3210
Personal Web Page
Thesis Adviser: Wen-Ching W. Li
Photo of Fei Wang

Fei Wang

Research Associate
fuw7@psu.edu
316 McAllister Building
+1 814 863 9059
Personal Web Page
Education:
Ph. D in Zhejiang University
Photo of Lu Wang

Lu Wang

Research Associate
wang_l@math.psu.edu
316 McAllister Building
814-863-9059
Thesis Adviser: Jinchao Xu
Education:
B.A. Peking University, China
Research Interests:
finite element method and Multigrid method
Photo of Kazimierz Wiesak

Kazimierz Wiesak

Senior Lecturer
wiesak@math.psu.edu
007 McAllister Building
+1 814 865 3285
Photo of Matthew Willyard

Matthew Willyard

Instructor
willyard@math.psu.edu
231 McAllister Building
+1 814 863 9163
Photo of Matthew Wroten

Matthew Wroten

Research Associate
mmw23@psu.edu
+1-814-863-4125
Photo of Shuonan Wu

Shuonan Wu

Research Associate
sxw58@math.psu.edu
205 McAllister Building
814-863-9035
Photo of Beata Wysocka

Beata Wysocka

Senior Lecturer
wysocka@math.psu.edu
434 McAllister Building
+1 814 863 3673
Education:
Ph.D., Emory University, 1995
Research Interests:
Graph theory
Photo of Jiang Yang

Jiang Yang

Research Associate
jxy31@math.psu.edu
221 McAllister Building
814-865-0326
Photo of Zifeng Yang

Zifeng Yang

Lecturer
ziy1@math.psu.edu
209 McAllister Building
814-865-1214
Photo of Fang Yu

Fang Yu

Research Associate
fuy3@psu.edu
218 McAllister Building
+1-814-865-5201
Personal Web Page
Education:
Ph.D of Applied Mathematics
Shanghai Jiao Tong University, China
Research Interests:
Nonlinear Partial Differential Equations
Photo of David Zach

David Zach

Instructor
zach@math.psu.edu
408 McAllister Building
+1-814-863-9108
Education:
B.S. Mathematics, Kent State University, 2011
M.A. Mathematics, Penn State University, 2013
Research Interests:
Mathematics Education
Photo of Tianyou Zhang

Tianyou Zhang

Research Associate
zhang_t@math.psu.edu
408 McAllister Building
+1 814 863 9108
Photo of Albena Zikatanova

Albena Zikatanova

Senior Instructor
albena@math.psu.edu
407 McAllister Building
+1 814 863 9670