PSU Mark
Eberly College of Science Mathematics Department

Meeting Details

For more information about this meeting, contact Becky Halpenny.

Title:"An Analytical Approach for Sustainable Transportation Network Design"
Seminar:Ph.D. Thesis Defense
Speaker:Ke han, Adviser: Alberto Bressan, Penn State
Abstract Link:http://
This dissertation work emphasizes the modeling and formulation of multi-agent, dynamic, interdependent, complex and competitive transportation systems, by invoking mathematically canonical and tractable forms. The design and management of a transportation network include not only problems of adding/removing capacity by changing nodes and arc sets, but also the determination of piecewise smooth decision variables like prices, tolls, traffic signals, information accessibility, and other control variables associated with Stackelberg mechanisms and so-called second-best strategies. The primary modeling paradigm employed by this dissertation is differential Nash-like game among travelers that captures several key aspects of modern traffic networks, including travel choices, travel modes, economic, social and environmental impacts. The well-known concept of dynamic network user equilibrium developed in the early 1990s has been extended in this dissertation to incorporate elastic travel demands and bounded rationality. Several network traffic flow models, including the Lighthill-Whitham-Richards hydrodynamic model featuring vehicle spillback, have been analyzed along with their qualitative properties and numerical results presented. As applications of the aforementioned theoretical work, several network design problems, such as congestion pricing and dynamic signal control, are presented. These problems explicitly address environmental sustainability in a mathematically tractable way. The results reveal various types of complexity inherent in the transportation networks, and provide insights into the management of such systems.

Room Reservation Information

Room Number:MB106
Date:05 / 13 / 2013
Time:10:00am - 12:00pm